The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (which consists of 12 Faculties, 42 Schools and 289 Laboratories) conducts research projects, participates in European research programmes and projects, cooperates with international institutions and organizations, and attracts outstanding researchers from within Greece and abroad. The Aristotle University supports research projects in a wide variety of disciplines related to the environment (natural and built), computing, new technologies and nanotechnology, telecommunications, industrial technologies, transport, biotechnology, biomedicine and health, agriculture, forestry and fishery, education and language, history and archaeology, social studies and economics.

The research policy of the Aristotle University focuses on:

  • promoting quality, and
  • encouraging excellence.

The principle objective of the quality policy implemented by the Research Committee of the Aristotle University is to ensure that optimal control procedures are applied and specific accreditation systems are used that guarantee high-quality research outputs. The Committee began implementing a quality policy within the framework of its operational programme, when the “Special Account for Research Grants” (S.A.R.G.) was accredited by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO 9001:2000) in November 2002. An excellence policy is also implemented with the aim to encourage the research personnel of the Aristotle University to conduct high-quality research projects in all fields of study. Recognizing the importance of the research carried out at the Aristotle University and rewarding the personnel for their hard work, setting up new research teams, as well as fostering a supportive environment for innovation are the fundamental principles behind the excellence policy of the Aristotle University. Thus, implementing a quality policy helps improve the internal organization of the research units of the Aristotle University, while implementing an excellence policy provides the research personnel of the University with incentives.

Skip to content