School of Medicine

Faculty of Health Sciences

Stefanos Triaridis

Theodora Gazopoulou-Tsouflidou

+30 2310999900

  • Τhe School of Medicine is one of the four schools of the Faculty of Health Sciences of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.
    It was founded in 1942, during the German occupation of Greece. Its foundation was postponed for 17 years compared to Aristotle University. The causes of this delay should be sought, among others, at the resistance by the then local medical status. The number of the medical students during the first academic year (1942-43) was 385, 274 of whom being males. According to the album “63 years of Medical School”, the difficulty of the elected professors to travel from Athens, their dismissal and reassessment after the liberation and the infrastructure deficiencies were some of the major problems that the new Medical School had to face. Its first professors were: N. Michalakeas, A. Kotsaftis, S. Samaras, N. Klisiounis, K. Iliakis, G. Pangkalos, G. Hatzivassiliou, G. Deligiannis, K. Alexandridis, M. Petzetakis, P. Fotinos and S. Veras.
    The main goal of the School of Medicine of the Faculty of Health Sciences of Aristotle University is to educate medical students as well as to provide Greece with health professionals that meet the highest standards. Another goal is to make high quality research either by itself or with the collaboration of other Greek or international research centers. The contact of the students with research begins early, during their undergraduate studies, through their participation in various research programs of the laboratories and the departments, the outcomes of which are presented, mainly, in the Conference of the School of Medicine (ESISAPTH) that is held every two years.
    The main educational goal of the School is the transmission of ethical values ​​that govern the medical practice to students, ensuring that they acquire all scientific knowledge that will allow them to diagnose and effectively manage general medical conditions they will have to face after graduation.
    The academic staff of the School of Medicine work in hospitals and other units of the National Health System, thus providing an important social service.
    The undergraduate curriculum of the School of Medicine has a six-year duration; the first five years are divided into semesters. During the first two years, the courses are mainly dedicated to basic sciences, while the contact with the clinical practice begins during the third year.
    The School offers more than fifty-four (54) post-graduate courses. You may find more information at the address
    The School comprises of 6 sectors: Anatomy and Pathology, Physiology and Pharmacology, Biological Sciences and Preventive Medicine, Radiology – Medical Physics and Informatics, Sensory Organs, Child Health, Neurosciences, Surgery and Internal Medicine.
    The School of Medicine of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki is one of the most important and well-established Schools of Greece, both quantitatively and qualitatively, with 4,000 registered students and 82 departments and laboratories.

    • Secretariat: Theodora Gazopoulou-Tsouflidou

      Τηλ. Επικοινωνίας: +30 2310 999900


Skip to content