Seismological Station

+30 2310991401,991402

  • The Seismological Station of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki was founded in 1978 and is part of the Department of Geophysics of the School of Geology of the university. It is the central station of a network of 37 telemetric seismological stations which covers a large part of the country. Its mission is to monitor, record, and analyze the seismic activity in Greece and the surrounding areas on a 24-hour basis, as well as provide the authorities and citizens with information about earthquakes, whenever necessary. Within the framework of creating a National Network of Seismographs, the Seismological Station of the Aristotle University and the Institute of Geodynamics-National Observatory of Athens provide information about earthquakes felt by local populations. The personnel of the Seismological Station consist of faculty members of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, scientists-experts in earthquake management, as well as postgraduate students of the Department of Geophysics.

    The Seismological Station promotes the cooperation between Greek and European agencies. It also provides international seismological centres with information about the seismic activity not only in the Mediterranean region (data from 800 earthquakes recorded per month, on average, are sent to international centres, timely and accurate information is provided about notable earthquakes), but also all over the world.

    The Seismological Station gathers data after the occurrence of earthquakes which are felt by people. The personnel of the Seismological station make announcements, whenever necessary, which provide scientific information about the on-going seismic activity. Moreover, the public and especially young people familiarize themselves with earthquakes, and learn how to protect themselves through tours organized by the Seismological Station.

Skip to content